Digital Learning Services (DLS) and the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) are hosting this workshop series that highlights how to transition back to campus while integrating the best aspects of remote instruction into your in-person courses or continuing to teach remotely.
The Asset Library and Engagement Index tools are being rebuilt, and new versions will be available in the fall, while Whiteboards and Impact Studio are being retired.
The SuiteC tool set was developed as part of a grant-funded project and first piloted in 2015. Over time, technologies have modernized, class sizes have increased, and the performance of SuiteC has fallen behind, ultimately leading to the need to retire the current toolset.
Join Digital Learning Services for an introductory workshop about Kaltura, a web-based video management platform that allows UC Berkeley instructors, students, and staff to upload, edit, manage and share videos and other media.
These virtual workshops will focus on considering how to (re)design your course or section to increase student learning, create engaging audio and video materials, and use campus tools to record those materials.
When adding lectures, ensure consistency in your layout so that students can follow a pattern; make a statement when you deviate from it. This will increase ‘findability’ and reduce time lost on tasks and frustration levels (Simunich, et al., 2012). bCourses Pages can be used to create a pattern layout for your units of study.
In the Core Template
Week 1 is set up in the page format in the template. You are welcome to edit the layout to create your pattern and designated space for your lectures.
Starting January 6, 2021, at 8 am, whenever any campus member uses their UC Berkeley Zoom account to host a meeting that is recorded to the Zoom Cloud, the resulting recording will be automatically copied to UC Berkeley’s campus video management system, Kaltura. One of two things will happen:
If the Zoom account owner has no Kaltura account, the recording will be deleted from Kaltura within 24 hours (this does not affect the Zoom Cloud recording, which will still be available in Zoom for 30 days). It will never be shared with anybody else.