Remote Instruction

Add Your Syllabus

Add Your Syllabus

It is important to provide a downloadable syllabus to your bCourses site for ease of access. Some instructors add the class schedule to the syllabus or use the course calendar with dated assignments to populate a schedule in the Syllabus section. There is also space provided on the Syllabus page to add text. Some professors post a table of their grading criteria or special notes.

In the Core Template

There is an accessible syllabus template for you to download and use on the Syllabus page. Download it and add your syllabus...

Edit the Homepage

Edit the Homepage

When students access your bCourses site for the first time, it’s as if they are walking into your classroom. How will you welcome them to the class and make sure they know where to get started? You can do this by setting a Homepage in your bCourses site that includes clear information about the course, how to get started, and welcoming materials and activities. This will ensure students are excited to engage with you and their classmates and can get started without any confusion.

In the Core Template

When you import the DLS Core Template...

Import Content from a Previous Course

Import Content from a Previous Course

In addition to using the DLS Core Template, in bCourses you can import content such as assignments, modules, pages, and discussions from previous courses using the Course Import tool. This is a quick way to transfer previously created content into your new course site to compliment the template resources.

Please take note of the following:

You only have access to copy content from current or previous courses in which you are an enrolled user. Importing a content more than once may have unintended...

New integration will automatically copy Zoom Cloud Recordings to Kaltura starting on January 6

December 17, 2020

Starting January 6, 2021, at 8 am, whenever any campus member uses their UC Berkeley Zoom account to host a meeting that is recorded to the Zoom Cloud, the resulting recording will be automatically copied to UC Berkeley’s campus video management system, Kaltura. One of two things will happen:

If the Zoom account owner has no Kaltura account, the recording will be deleted from Kaltura within 24 hours (this does not affect the Zoom Cloud recording, which will still be available in Zoom for 30 days). It will never be shared with anybody else.

If the...